Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 46

    Day 43 - Solitary

    October 28, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 16 °C

    ‘Alone doesn’t mean lonely. It just means alone. It just means that for now you are on your own, and that’s not a terrible thing” - Hemal Jhaveri

    Day 43 - Morpeguite

    Today was a solitary day - just the cats and I. No visitors, no tv, no music - just quiet and the sound of the blustery wind and occasional rain. It was a peaceful kind of day where I had no expectations of myself or from other people. A day to just sit and do nothing special at all.

    I did go for a walk before lunch, just in the local area. Not for long, but enough to get some fresh air into my lungs, take a few photos and gather some chestnuts for roasting later.

    Bacon and egg breakfast, large salad for lunch and burnt chicken wings for dinner. That had more to do with the oven cooking too hot and then the power going out! I managed to salvage a bit of the wing meat. I also had the chestnuts to fall back on but wasn’t really hungry anyway. I had roasted them in the oven and they were nice and sweet. Bringing most of them with me on my way back to Santiago tomorrow.

    Looking forward to the next stage of my trip - even though it will mean this part of my journey is truly over. In reality, it’s been over for a week. But, once I see Nancy, Dave and Luie come in, it really will be done. With any luck, Linda may also come in while I am still in the city. Would be great to see her too. I wish I had been able to see Jenny and Carolyn again, but it wasn’t to be. But, that’s the Camino (and life). Gives you what you need…not always what you want.
    Read more