Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Day 44 - On the buses

    October 29, 2022 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 13 °C

    “The Camino taught me to keep going, to keep moving forward when life gets hard — even if it’s one step at a time.” — Tristina Oppliger

    Day 44 - Morpeguite to Santiago de Compostela by bus

    Today I completed my stint at The Little Fox House. Swept and tidied, made sure all the laundry was hung to dry (it has taken days and still not dry!), washed and put away all the dishes, fresh kitty litter, lots of food and water for them etc. At least Tracy can come to a clean house and hopefully happy kittys.

    The bus to get me to Muxia was 15 mins late - and I had been 15 mins early. I don’t think I was standing in the correct spot either as the driver was giving me heck for something and “bus no stop here” was part of it. Either way, he let me on and off we went. I had 3 hrs to kill in Muxia - and I’ve already been there and done that. So, went to lunch and ended up with a massive pizza. I couldn’t eat it all and luckily the servers English was better than my Spanish and he asked if I wanted to take the rest with me. Wasted another hour until the bus came and headed to Santiago de Compostela for my last night.

    The next time I walk a Camino, I want to build in an extra week to walk to Finesterre and Muxia. I have heard it is totally worth the walk - so beautiful. However for this time, I have taken the bus between all points.

    I know when I go to Paris I need to wear “smart” dress for Moulin Rouge. That will be a bit of a trick as I don’t have anything with me that qualifies, and the stuff Kathryne is bringing for me (I packed before I left) is mostly beach, hot weather stuff. So, off I went to one of the big shopping malls in SdC. 1€ on the bus each way and it was pretty much a waste of time. Couldn’t find anything I was in love with but left with a sweater just to play it safe. Plain, mock neck sweater but at least it’s better than a tshirt that says “Adventure never ends” on it. I will be way under dressed, but that’s the way it goes. Oh - and I have no coat either. Just a zip up fleece. My damn luck they won’t even let me in 😬

    Didn’t get back to the hostel until 9:20pm, at which point I finally had my dinner - a large salad. The pizza will have to wait til tomorrow. Maybe I will take it for the airport before my flight to Madrid.

    Looking forward to tomorrow, even though it’s my last day in SdC. Things to do, people to see and places to go!
    Read more