Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 48

    Day 45 - Hasta la vista, baby

    30 octobre 2022, Espagne ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    “Live for the moments you can’t put into words.” — Author Unknown

    Day 45 - Santiago de Compostela to Madrid - by air

    The above quote pretty much sums up my journey and pilgrimage to Santiago. I tried, through this blog, to describe what I was doing, seeing and feeling. But there will always be elements that weren’t able to be captured: the spiritual, the scents and sounds and the profound effect of walking the Camino. This was a journey of self discovery and one made me grateful I’m so many varied ways. A journey I will never forget.

    Today is basically the end of that journey. I overnighted in Santiago so I could see part of my Camino family walk in to Santiago. I was there when Dave, Nancy and Luie walked in, and was able to film them as they came into the square. Tomorrow will be a day for photos for them. Today, the square was filled to the brim with people as the city was celebrating a race weekend. It messed with pilgrims finding the last markers to guide them in. It messed with foot traffic due to barricades and congestion. But the city is not only Camino focussed. It is a thriving city with everyday activities…and this was one of them. Tomorrow, Dave Nancy and Luie will go to collect their hard earned compostelas. Nancy has walked with pain most of the journey and Dave and Louie have had their fair share too. Today, Dave almost didn’t make it as he injured his foot to the point of almost not being able to walk. Almost. Pain meds are a wonderful thing. And if you are going to mask pain, good thing it’s the last day!!!

    After arrival, I was able to take a couple of photos for them before we headed off for tapas lunch. Easier said than done! Our 5 minute walk took close to 30, due to congestion and having to cross a barricade where runners were actively running. We finally made it and had a leisurely lunch and catch up. We had some fabulous tapas including a deer burger with some sort of fruity relish and mustard, and the most amazing Brie croquette which was covered in nuts and deep fried. OMG. Going to have to try this one at home!! Nancy even treated me to lunch which was totally unexpected but greatly appreciated ❤️. Their hotel was right near the bus stop so I was able to walk with them and say goodbye. So very happy they were able to make it in today and we got to see each other again. I was hoping Linda would make it in today as well, but I think it will be tomorrow. I would like to have caught up with her as well!

    After saying our goodbyes, I grabbed the airport bus as I had a flight to Madrid to catch. Santiago has the quickest airport EVER! It took me all of about 5 minutes to check my bag and get through security. Then I had a long 2.5hr wait for my flight. Better early than late though!! Madrid airport on the other hand is massive! Of course I came I. To the last gate and had to walk all the way to the last baggage carousel - at the other end of the airport. Typical.

    Happy for my last night to be in a single room, close to the airport. Last night was one of my most comfortable of the Camino, but snorers and loud people made it a less than stellar night.

    Tomorrow I start a new trip and the last segment of this 8 week leave. Headed for the heat, sand and sea of the Maldives for a week, then a bit of culture in Paris for a few days. It’s tough life, but someone has to do it!! And I am happy to take one for the team :-)
    En savoir plus