Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 144

    Down the falls

    February 20, 2018 in Colombia ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    After Maria, it was my turn to go. I had done abseiling twice before so I was quite comfortable going down. The one thing I had never done before was going down along a waterfall. It was a beautiful experience with the water falling all over in the heat and humidity of the day. It was a very refreshing experience. The waterfalls were in 2 stages and a section of the falls are quite a bit far from the cliff wall where we didn't have any foot support. That was also a totally new experience. Hristo had been waiting here for Maria to come down so they could go down together but the helper below called out him to come down to prevent the ropes from crossing each other. As soon as Hristo left, Maria panicked again. I was about to reach that section when I heard her call out that she can't come down, that she's stuck. I could hear the panic in her voice so I tried calling her to calm her. But, by the time I reached there, she had found her courage and had already started going down. It was the sudden lack of a foothold that had caused the panic but she recovered quite quickly and was on her way down.Read more