Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Denver, Houston, Panama City, Lima

    October 10, 2015 in Peru ⋅ ☁️ 64 °F

    We had great luck with flights today; all of them were on time, and our connections went off without a hitch. That's the good news. There really aren't a lot of things worse than sitting on airplanes for the entirety of a day, but it's always worth the price. By the time we arrived at our hotel in Lima, it was 3am, and we had been sitting, almost constantly, since early the day before. I suspect I'm just a bit shorter than I was, when I left Denver.

    All I wanted to do, when we got to the hotel was sleep. I unzipped my bag to grab my toiletries, and the odor that escaped was dreadful. It smelled like a 14-year old boys' feet! I quickly identified the source of the stench; I had packed my tennis shoes in the bag, while they were still damp. I was shocked at the number of organisms that could grow in a single 20 hour period. There was no saving them, and they went directly into the trash at the Hostal Fresas. Looks like I'll be wearing hiking boots for the next 10 days.
    Read more