Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 59

    Day trip to Pezinok

    November 1, 2016 in Slovakia ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    Today was wine region day. I took the morning train just 20 minutes out of the city in search of well known wines. Again it was a holiday (All Saints day) so lots of places were closed. I toured around this beautiful little town and had beautiful weather again. I found the wine of Matysak which is well known for a lot of award winning wines. My waiter Kristian was amazing. I told him I was in the wine business and asked to sample three wines off the list. He ended up giving me four award winning wines that were only available by the bottle but the owner had opened them for a private event the night before. I tried an Irsai Oliver early harvest 2016 which was bottled in early October- a hybrid grape bred in 1930 and tasted like a light Muscat. Then it was the Riesling 2015, the Cab Sav rose-2015-which was phenomenal followed by the 2015 Cab Franc (which was very soft on tannins). I had a duck leg with red cabbage and dumplings to go along with it. I ended with a private reserve white called "Rampage" which was not filtered yet and was so fruity and delicious. What a great experience. I came home about 4 and was surprised by a local on my walk back home. See photos. It was a perfect way to spend the day. Tomorrow I am heading to the art gallery to check out that propaganda exhibit from 1939.Read more