Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 100

    Muckross Abbey, House & Torc Waterfalls

    December 12, 2016 in Ireland ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    I was set to do the Ring of Kerry this morning before moving onto Cork but my tour was cancelled. Bummer I was really looking forward to it but I was the only one going so it wasn't feasible for the tour company. Instead I decided to go up to Torc waterfalls in the park. It was drizzling when I left and by the time I stopped off to have lunch and give my feet a rest (12km in) it was pouring down rain. The last 8 kms were really wet. The Polish girls at the hostel were super and threw my coat into the dryer. My feet really hurt but it was well worth it. I also found out that the creatures in the park were the original Red deer of Ireland, which have existed only in Ireland for centuries. The crazy looking second creature is the purebred Japanese Sika deer and was brought to the island by nobility for hunting purposes. Interestingly both deer graze side by side with cattle in the National Park.Read more