Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 109

    A day at the museums

    December 21, 2016 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 5 °C

    Started off at the museum of Science and Violence but the didn't open until noon so I headed to the National Museum of Archaeology. Had to burn off 1/2 hour because it was only 930 and the museum opened at 10; nothing like being a keener. I spent five hours there going through history and artifacts learned so much about Ireland. Lots of Viking history and lots of wars and sieges. The Vikings fascinated me and so did the bog history. I came across the bog bodies that were so well preserved. Also learned about the 3000 year old burial site of Tara. There is a lot of rich and interesting history here. At three I made my way back to the science and violence museum. This too was interesting but in a modern format which included history on protests, weapons, human rights (abortion and the right to die) and genetic modification. An absolute 360 degrees from what I had just seen. So I had a very cerebral day in the end. I finally made it back in time to have dinner at 530, totally missing lunch. I noticed the Abbey theatre down the street was playing Tolstoys "Anna Karenina" starting tomorrow so I will check and see how much the tickets are. If they are not to much I will go to the play.Read more