Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 111

    Winding down in Dublin

    December 23, 2016 in Ireland ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    Last day in Dublin today before I head out to England at 5:30 am tomorrow. I'll spend the day today walking the River Liffey toward the docks if it doesn't rain. It's very windy and I don't think my poor umbrella is going to make it another few days. I spent 3 hours yesterday in the National library yesterday perusing the WB Yeats exhibit. Not only was Yeats a poet, playwright, or political activist but also an intense lover of women. He had many concubines in his lifetime and was a very interesting man. On my walk to the library at 930 in the morning I saw a young well dressed girl doing a ball of heroin in the phone booth. It was very sad. I have been told by the Irish that heroin is a big problem in Dublin and so I kept my head down watching for needles. I saw three on the streets yesterday. I walked the park of St. Stephens Green and Trinity College. The streets and shops are chaotic with Christmas shoppers and I actually felt anxious with all the people yesterday. Looking forward to my housesit in Harrogate tomorrow. Will be missing my boys tomorrow for Christmas-love them both with all of my heart.Read more