Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 163

    Montlaur

    February 13, 2017 in France ⋅ 🌬 12 °C

    I took the train to Montlaur in search of something different and the countryside. I took Lauren's advice to check it out . The wind was blasting at 55kmph today, even worse than yesterday. I really dislike the wind soooo much. I got Montlaur right smack in the middle if nowhere. I saw a castle on the hill and made my way into the centre to check it out. I walked along the highway with cars blasting by me. When I got into the centre there was only a library, town hall, church and bakery that was closed. I had three hours to burn up. So I walked and walked! Here in France you have to get a time slot for you train on a return ticket so my train back was at 3:25. I was actually miserable today for the first time. I couldn't find an entrance to the castle and there was no signage anywhere. I waited at the train for 1.5 hrs and tried to hide from the wind. When I finally got back to the city the first thing I bought was a bottle of wine and road food for tomorrow. I was so cold! I booked my bus for Bordeaux tomorrow and I leave at 1pm. I'm hoping Bordeaux will have more to offer. No pictures today.Read more