Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 258

    Krakow-Buzzzzzinggg!

    May 19, 2017 in Poland ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Thanks to all for wishing me a happy birthday! I left Katowice this morning and stalls were being set up for a musical and outdoor festival. Music was playing and people were in great spirit and another sunny day. Holy cannoli is it hot and Kraków is buzzing! So much action. Music and film festival, huge market and artisans in Rynek Square. Loved it the first time here with Olli in 2013 and I love it even more again. Had a plate of mushroom and cabbage perogies and a couple of beers for lunch. There are a ton of British tourists and the Polish people speak excellent English. Booked my hostel away from the old town as it is super noisy and I'm only a 10 minute walk away ($11 per night, yippee). Lots of parks and green space and super clean. Krakow is the Catholic capital in Poland and home of John Paul II. Walked along the river Wisla and enjoyed the warm summer night. Kraków has become a gastronomic Mecca and there are so many great restaurants to choose from. I walked through the indoor and outdoor market and through St. Benedicts church. There was a peaceful Communist support rally in the main square. I didn't go into Wawel church as the queue was huge and I had too much to see. Lots of super fall down drunk British guys tonight. Don't think the Queen would be too impressed.Read more