Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 259

    Jewish section & Oskar Schindler Enamel

    May 20, 2017 in Poland ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Back in the swing of walking again and put on 10km today! I dropped if my bags in luggage storage at the hostel as I had to change rooms and didn't want to be in a dorm of 10. I walked to Schindler's Enamel factory and didn't have to wait long in the queue. Schindler saved over 1000 Jewish and Polish by employing them in the factory to make enamel pots and pans for export to other countries. He had a smart account who skimmed money from the sales (fixed the books) so he could get Jews out of Kraków. After the factory I walked through Jewish market Kazmierrz and had a traditional polish meal called Bigos, sauerkraut stew with beef. I made my way to the new hostel which is smack dab in the middle of the old town with a great view. The condition of the hostel is dub par to what I had and paid last night. Location, location I guess. I hit the market again after for perogies made with feta, spinach, garlic and sun dried tomatoes, made by a local woman. Delicious! Wavering on seeing the Salt mines tomorrow aa the cost is $45 and there are so many tour buses going there daily. Just met 6 welsh guys on a stag who snuck into the hostel. Will who is getting married for the second time after 30 years of singledom donned a beautiful one piece his son bought him. The lot of them were hilarious. They are from Cardiff and work on the railway.Read more