Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 260

    Krakow to Warsaw

    May 21, 2017 in Poland ⋅ ⛅ 18 °C

    Well I decided on not doing the salt mine tour after all because of the cost. After to talking to two young polish girls last night in the hostel they recommended Warsaw and Gdansk. I decided to move on. So far on my travels the Polish people are the kindest, nicest, happiest and helpful people. By far this is the safest country I have been in. Three hour fast train ride and I'm in Warsaw. Another beautiful city. It was completely flattened in WW2 but totally rebuilt and is pristine. Coming out from the train station I'm met head on with the technical building and in behind the art gallery. It looked like the Empire State Building. A twenty minute walk to the hostel and the city is again buzzing and there is music everywhere. A quick shower and change and I'm out to catch the sites. It's Sunday and the museums and exhibits are free. I walk through the market and winding little streets, more music, and a old man playing a old piano with a parrot singing along. Lucky me I manage to catch the exhibition to the Royal Palace and it is magnificent. I don't know much about Polish Royalty but am totally impressed with the whole palace. Looks like a prelude to St. Petersburg. I finish up with a walk along the promenade and then find a restaurant for a pizza and a couple of beers....and delightfully people watch for two hours. My waiter is a student and has a nametag saying so and tells me he is learning. Brilliant! This stops people from being nasty to him. Next I see the water truck coming along the street and watering all the flowers and soldiers tapping each other on the back and laughing. It feels good to be in Poland!Read more