Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 279

    Wrapping up in Wroclaw

    June 9, 2017 in Poland ⋅ 🌙 25 °C

    Well so much for the hidden jewel. I wanted to book an extra night and the nice girl at reception said the town is booked for the weekend. Wow. The temperature hit 27 today and I had to hide out from 13:00-15:00 hours. Smokin hot. I did leave early in the morning for four hours and walked the different islands, caught the locals market and then the old square. One of the islands is called cathedral island and is solely churches. It has beautiful gardens and is the only island with gas lanterns where a man lights the lanterns every night at dusk. I browsed through some local galleries and the artists are really inspiring here. Dinner was at Kurna Chata where I had mushroom and cabbage perogies. They were deep fried and much different than the one's I had in Warsaw. So yummy and each region has a different way of preparing them. My total meal with a beer came to $7.50. Such a great value in Poland. I was on the lookout for gnomes today and was thrilled finding some cute interesting ones. A stage was being set up for the folk festival featuring groups for all over Poland and the Ukraine. Watching the dancers was beautiful.Read more