Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    St-Jean to Roncesvalles - The Pyrenees

    October 5, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    Today marked the official start of my Camino walk, with the 25.6km journey from St-Jean Pied-de-Port, taking the Napoleon Route across the Pyrenees.

    I'd been mentally and physically preparing myself for this day for a long time, but nothing had prepared me for exactly what this would throw at me. The ascent up the mountains was every bit as challenging as I'd expected, but I found myself at times wondering whether I'd be able to make it through without causing injury to myself.

    My fellow pilgrims had no idea about the strength that they gave me as we exchanged short introductions, heard each others stories, or acknowledged language barriers. The common goal and language that we shared was the road travelled, and regular wishes of 'Buen Camino' reassured us that we were in the company of friends.

    To say that the scenery was astounding (or any other such adjective) couldn't come close to the reality of today's experience. Though good weather had been forecast for today, we walked the entire morning through a cool mist that left a gentle film of condensation over ourselves, which provided a pleasant contrast to the sweat produced by the body as a protest to the physical demands to push forward.

    Shortly after midday I found myself nearing the pinnacle of the Pyrenees, which provided the most amazing vistas of valleys, farms and low-level cloud that I now stood above. The regular sounds of bells worn by cows and horses was calming, and added to the magnificence around me.

    The gentle descent into Roncesvalles was a welcome relief as I struck up a conversation with a fellow Aussie who had decided to give himself 6 months to explore Europe after many years of hard work. It made me think of how we often delay living our own lives, waiting instead for an arbitrary date that society tells us that it is suitable to stop working.

    I now look forward to a fun night meeting more fellow pilgrims over dinner before a restful night at the modernised 12th Century Roncesvalles Monastery which acts as a 183 bed albergue for today's pilgrims.

    Edit: A pilgrims dinner enjoyed with Marcos (Brazil/USA), Pauline (Denmark), and Els (Holland).

    Thought for the day: We each walk our own path and pace. Though this may not bring us to the same place, or at the same time, for a time we meet, providing an opportunity for humanity to shine.

    Steps: 38,900
    Distance: 25.6km
    Total Distance walked from St-Jean: 25.6km
    Read more