Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Pt 2 - sulfur baths

    May 10, 2023 in Georgia

    Every tbilisi article I've read has mentioned the sulfur baths and tbh I thought it sounded pretty gross so I wasn't too keen but Christie said I might as well do it while I'm here so I decided I'd get it over with this arvo. My neck and shoulders were sore from carrying my bags on the plane and my legs were sore from yesterday so i felt like I could use some ancient healing. Most of the baths have dome brick roofs but as I was already pretty sceptical I opted for the nicest option which had a lovely mosaic entrance (and some guy shooting a music video lol). I booked and then grabbed a quick beer where a nice dog came and sat next to me (wanted to give it a pat but it didn't seem keen and I didn't want rabies so didnt). The dog kept barking at some stray cat which was really killing the vibe for everyone else but it reminded me of Millie so I thought it was cute ahahaha. First impressions of the sulfur bath was that it was like athletes foot if it was a room: damp, steamy, wet floor and smelt like rotten eggs. The shortest time they give you is an hour and I definitely didn't think I'd stay the whole time but I managed to relax once I got in. The water was super hot so every now and again I'd have to take a cold shower. I paid for the scrub too, so about half way through some fat georgian dude came in with his shirt off and started rubbing me with an exfoliating mit (disposable thank god). At that point I'd really started to come around to liking the bath and his massage was super nice!! After the bath I felt amazing so i grabbed another beer and then went home (where I then soaked my feet in alcohol gel :) ).Read more