Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Catching Up

    March 16 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 13 °C

    I have had a great day. Some days things just fall into place. It was my intention to go with June to her friend's birthday lunch. In the end June offered me her car and away I went and not go to the birthday lunch.
    Headed into the Nelson and went to see an ex Air Force friend and arranged to meet after he closed up shop.
    Nipped around to see another friend. Carol and her late husband are/were English. Brian was in the radio club with Tony in England. They came to stay with us in Invercargill. Lovely to see Carol and daughter Fiona. Not so good to see Carol struggling with hip problems. They have lived in NZ since 2005. Their other daughter came for a holiday and stayed here and so Brian and Carol followed and sister Fiona. Amazing garden. Carol has really green fingers.
    Back to see Pete Wise and by chance another ex Airwomen, Stef was visiting so Pete took us to lunch. Super catch up. I had been concerned because our yearly communication at Christmas hadn't happened so pleased he is still Pete with a super attitude to life and is in good health.
    I then popped back to see a former school friend and seems she has moved but the new resident said the people next door know where she is. Very nice chap dialled Donna's number and we will catch up next week.
    Another former workmate lived a block from Donna's and since I was so close called in. Never would if she didn't live so close. As always great to remember those we worked with when I first moved back to Invercargill.
    Previously I had popped into the library to try and track a "girl" I played softball with. I saw Maxine here in 2011 and she gave me a piece of pottery she had made so when I see it I think of her and was keen to touch base. I didn't find her name on the electoral roll but saw a name Dorothy Tinker - that must be her Mum. Again it wasn't out of my way and it was on the way back to June's.
    This lady is 95 and of course remembered Mum and Dad. She had her sister there and another former Southlander visiting as well. Seemingly she plays bowls four days a week and still lives independently. She has shared Maxine's details and I will be keen to contact her.
    Back to June's to deliver a meal to a friend that had been in hospital this week and then to deliver a birthday cake to her friend. June is a top cook and whipping up a fruit cake is so easy for her. It tasted excellent as well.
    So catching up just fell into place.
    I don't often see the sunset but camper van life is different and I managed a couple of shots last night
    Read more