Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    First day back in reality

    November 2, 2022 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 25 °C

    I started my first shift at work at 12 today. So woke up, did my NaNo and some stretches for a bit then headed off to work.

    As always, being the newbie sucks. I know what I'm doing, but not in this bar. I don't know where anything is, I dont know how to till works or the procedure with the tables. I hate being the newbie.

    But everyone was super nice and welcoming. I think I annoyed them a little but all newbies annoy people so hopefully it's all good. There is another newbie aswell, Sarah. She has clearly been doing this longer, and it was her second shift, so she was a bit intimidating but there we go.

    The job its self is pretty easy. There is no floor team just bar, so we do a bit of everything which is nice. There are three bars, bistro, gaming and sports. I will be stationed in bistro this week as that is my experience. It is essentially a restaurant with a bar in it, nothing special but it's the only place in an hours drive that's any good so it can get very busy. We had two functions on last night but as I'm new I didn't have to deal with them which is a plus. The gaming bar has all the machines and things in it, as well as the ticket lottery machine I think. As I have zero experience there, I tried to steer clear of it. The sports bar is essentially a pub. They have the same food as bistro, but have various games and races playing as well as a betting till. Again, zero experience so I only ran food for that section. Their events rooms are practically none existent, there is one. So that's a plus as the same team does that aswell.

    Overall it was a good shift. A little stressful for the others because it was busy and I couldn't do much except run food and clean, but ok. We also get a 30min break, and 50% off food from the kitchen which is lovely. We also get a discount card for Woolworths so will be getting that asap as it's the only food place locally and I'll take a 5% discount any day.

    I have been scheduled in 12-9 until sunday which will be interesting. Two months of not working then 5 back to back 9hr shifts. I will be dead by monday but it's so I can learn asap and stop being a pain to the others. And hopefully understand more of the slang. I few times I had to ask them to repeat because I had genuinely no clue what they had said. I also now have to learn the sizes of all the glasses and different uses. UK is simple, pint or half. Here, confusing. Bottle, pot, scooner, pint, jug. There is also little and talls for spirits and soft drinks. Why do they need so many!

    Walked back to my room and spotted the moon again. It's a really bad photo but it is now half full, and rotated clockwise so now sits half way between sideways and upside down.
    Read more