Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 40

    ITS CHRISTMAS!!!

    November 3, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    Yes that is correct, we did put the Christmas decor up today. I was very proud of my tree, understated and pretty. It's also really bright so theres that.

    I spent the morning moving into my official room. It is a shared accom so there is two single beds. I surprisingly prefer the single bed, it feels more comfy. There is the same amount of storage but as it is half the price of the double and odds on I wont have to share, I'm happy. The guy who was here before was here for 6months and he never shared in that time. The demand is not high at all and, for me at least, I'd have to wait for another female to come through to share with. I dont think I'd care if it were a dude but we'd have to both sigh off on it and even then the likelihood of someone coming through is super low.

    Work was very slow today. I spent most of it decorating and cleaning. It's kinda funny because a couple of the girls have spent my last two shifts running around d stressed because theres so much to do. But if they stopped for a second they'd realise there really isnt and they are just trying to do everything at once. Perks of working in somewhere twice the size I guess, you learn how to prioritize better and keep things calm for the billionaire guests.

    Today definitely went a lot better than yesterday. Because I wasnt shadowing anyone, I had more freedom to do things my way and figure it all out on my own. Had a couple sticky situations with the till and not understand its layout, but I know now so it won't happen again. I am also getting better with the lingo which is good. I spent the evening dinner shift running the bistro alone with just one other girl. She's underage so I was alone on the bar and taking orders, all she did was run food and clean. So that was super nice, got to learn it all and speak with customer properly which I haven't done in forever.

    Customers still suck obviously. Had one guy inform me and the manager that the food we served them was no better than the 'dogs dinner'. Tbat dog must be living with mum, the ribs were unacceptable apparently. He had to excuse himself and left his wife to deal with it, because it was all too much for him. People are weird.

    Ended up finishing late because the manager instead of showing me how to close decided to go home. She sprouted some bs about full time/ casual pay and clocking out on time. She is also the person who chose not to come in yesterday leaving them short staffed with 3 newbies at dinner. So she is a delight, just going to try and stay on her good side and leave the others too the gossiping. I wont be there long enough to get involved.

    Then headed back home, had some pizza from work. Never going to turn down free food. And had some timtams for dessert. I know, I'm so healthy, but free food!

    I also found a song that encapsulates my NaNo so downloaded that and with listening to it on repeat. It's also a great song that I completely forgot about so yay.
    Read more