Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 309

    Dolphins in the bay

    July 30, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    As we sat in Little Shack having a drink with sunset some dolphins appeared in the bay. This is something incredibly magical about the dolphins here. It just feels so unique and fantastical.

    After the sun set, I walked back alone. On my way there were a couple dolphins playing in the water so close to shore you could almost touch them. It was perfect timing on my part.

    Back in the hostel I did some laundry while I waited for the others to get back. Seb was leaving at midnight and Alyssa at 4am, so we had planned to eat then watch movies till it was time. We first watched Friends with Benefits, then a Zombie movie I can not remember the name of. By the time they were done it was 10,30. Alex and Paulo had already decided to go to bed so it was just Alyssa, Seb, Louisa and I left. Seb and I played a final game of Pool, he won, unsurprisingly. Then Ellie locked up and we did a few games of cards while we waited. We stopped a little earlier than intended so that Seb could leave being the ShitHead.

    We said our goodbyes, promises to meet again soon in England and waved him off. Alyssa headed to bed to get a could hours sleep before she had to wake up again for her plane. And I went to bed aswell, and tried not to feel like I was loosing my best friends again.

    Two days later it was Louisa's turn to leave. She left on the 3am bus and refused to do any part or big goodbye. I went into her room when I got back from work and we said our goodbyes then. I left her to finish packing as I'd promised not to be emotional. Louisa has been in Port with me longer than Berber was. Which is an insane concept as it felt like Berber was here forever. But she wasn't. She left and Louisa replaced her a couple days later. And now Lousia is gone too.

    The hostel is quiet, too quiet now. The extroverts are gone, the bits are gone and the French are gone. There is only a 5 of us left and it is amazing how empty the hostel feels. There were never many volunteers but the long termers made it busier, there were always 4 extra, making our group twice the size. But not anymore.
    Read more