Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Arriving in Christchurch

    April 22, 2011 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    Two months ago we had to make a quick decision about our already booked trip to NZ Southern Island. I was having lunch with some friends when someone mentioned about he earthquake that had just devastated Christchurch, the date Tuesday 22nd February exactly two months from our trip so for the rest of the afternoon I couldn't stop thinking what to do, cancel the trip, rebook it etc etc.

    After checking with Jetstar there was not chance to get a refund for the tickets so after discussing it with my wife we decided to buy the bullet and go ahead with the trip.

    My original plan was to fly to Christchurch and stay there overnight, in the morning we were going to head to Twizel and the Mt Cook region. The hotel I had booked was located two blocks from the now collapsed cathedral so my first action was to cancel this booking and to look for alternatives for our first night.

    No science behind I just looked at towns within 2 - 3 hours driving from Christchurch and also explored the impact the earthquake had on them. After some research I decided to stay in Geraldine, no much to see in the surroundings but again somewhere in between Christchurch and Twizel.

    Tonight we just finished all the packing and we were ready to start our journey in the morning.
    Read more