Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Layover? NEVER!

    May 31, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Now on to Portugal! Time to meet my friends in Porto and learn from the smartest veterinary criticalists in the world for the next 3 days.

    The flight from Toronto to Frankfurt left 1.5 hours late, my layover was 2 hr on the nose. When approaching our destination, I asked the stewardess if she thought I would make my next flight, she gave me a less than 50% chance of making it as I would have to go through customs, and change terminals before even being able to search for my gate. By the time I was off the plane, I had 15 minutes until my gate closed. Thinking positive, and quick thoughts, I saw this as just another race, a 15 minute qualifier. I remained polite as I squeezed onto a bus, ran up a flight of stairs, and said excuse me too many times to count. The positive thinking worked, as 15 minutes on the nose, I arrived at my gate, albeit a little sweaty and out of breath.

    A shock to no one, my bag did not have my competitive nature and alas did not make the connection. Luckily, the next flight from Frankfurt to Porto arrived at the same time as my coworkers from Vancouver. The universe sharing in the good vibes to give this trip an exciting start.
    Read more