Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Train street treat.

    March 23 in Vietnam ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    Lazy morning this morning, sleeping in till 730!! Got to love dark rooms! We still have a few days when we get back from Ha Long Bay to hit the streets early, like usual, to observe the city before the true hustle and bustle starts!

    Enjoyed breakfast, which was a selection of fruits and veges. toast and usual fried rice, eggs, and noodles. Opted for a simple breakfast, so rice and noodles could be an option for lunch and dinner without feeling asthough we already had it. I slipped some sweet potato and corn away in my pocket for later, so Tyde has a snack of substance....cheeky.

    We hit then got ourselves together and hit the streets. On route to train street where we will grab a coffee and watch the train go past.

    I tried to get a bearing of which way to go, only to get lost in between some little side alleys. This wasn't a bad thing. We got to see a local market and fruit and vege exchange, which you wouldn't see on the main streets. A plethora of beautiful fruit and veges all displayed on the foot path, as well as pork and beef carcuses being butchered on the step not much further away.

    I eventually put my trust back into google Maps to get us on course to train street. Still pushing buggy around in this little trolley, he is having a ball seeing the city from a different perspective. Walking through the market, the woman rushed to hand him fresh fruit and veges and catch a glimpse of this chunky monkey x like usual, tyde entertained them whilst I maintained his personal boundries.

    We finally arrived at Train Street. What a delight and unique experience. It's a train track that runs through housing blocks for about 100 metres. Train runs 5 times a day.
    The hustle is off-putting approaching train street. They hagal and hustle you to get into their cafe. I went to enter through one entrance where they were pushing and pulling us trying to get us into the cafe. I out my foot down and refused to give them my money, which in turn the police officer ushered us out. So I went to the other entrance. Another lady was there touting for customers, which I kindly accepted and took her invitation after she went to great lengths to help me collapse my stroller.

    We had front row seats for the action.

    I ordered my first egg Coffee which is a must try here in Vietnam. At first I was sceptical to the idea as coffee and egg did not go well in my mind. But when in Rome. If you think coffee meringue, it's something that pleasantly surprised me and could potentially be ordered again. Hehe.
    Read more