Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Lima, Peru

    March 7, 2022 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 77 °F

    Lima: a city of 11 million people; that's 1/3 the population of all of Peru. Tomorrow we tour the city so will have lots more to say about it after that.

    Today was more about traveling. Left my hotel at 2:45 am. At the airport, first thing I had to do was scan a QR code and fill our the Peruvian declaration of health. I kept getting error messages and the form would not save. I couldn't even get in line until it was done. An assistant tried to help but the questions didn't make sense to him either. After struggling for an hour, he called another guy over and he managed to get it to work after a couple more tries. Seems it wanted my hotel in the 'final destination's spot and for the "contact information" which seemed to want a person in Peru, we reentered my info.

    .......long day of flying..

    Made it to my hotel and after a short rest. I took a long walk around the area. While sitting in the lobby waiting for the restaurant to open, I met a couple who had just finished the 16 day tour. Connie had lots of good advice. And met another couple who will be on the tour with us. Ended up having dinner with them and another couple. All n all a nice end to a difficult day
    Read more