Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 529

    Frenchmans Cap

    February 18, 2015 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    Yesterday moning I started to walk the "Frenchmsns Cap". Which got this name because it looks similar to the helmet the French wore at the war (with the peaks).
    It was advertised like in the picture to me.Lucky me there is a new route since 2013! Which makes the first 16km quick and easy.
    That I could push on further to the bottom of the peak. The second part was a bit more challenging thru the rainforest up to 1234m, where the second hut was!
    The moning brought a nice surprise and sunny weather! The Hut was right on top of the clouds, which was amazing. So I tryed to get quickly to the top(1446m).
    There I had a sea of clouds underneath me. A litte while after, it cleared up so I had a good view on the "Barron Pass" and surroundings.
    I walked half way back to hut no.1.

    Gestern ging es auf zum "Frenchmans Cap". Der weg wurde mir bestieben wie im Bild 1. War dann aber glücklicherweise nicht so, da es seit 2013 eine neuen Weg gibt. So waren die ersten 16km schnell zurückgelegt und ich konnte sogar zum fuße des Berges Vorstoßen, zur zweiten Hütte. Der zweite Teil des Weges ging durch Regenwald hoch auf 1234m. Der nächste morgen hat, nach Regen am Vortag, eine schöne Überschung gebracht. Sonnenschein und die Hütte war genau über einem Meer aus Wolken. Also nix Wie hoch auf den Gipfel (1446m), wo ich über einem Meer aus Wolken einen endlosen Blick hatte. Bevor es wieder runter ging hat es such Noch bisschen aufgeklart. Zurück ging es den halben weg zur ersten Hütte.
    Read more