Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 161

    Sevilla - Heart of Andalusia, Pt.1

    January 22, 2023 in Spain

    Actually, I came to find shelter from the cold only for a few days. At night, the temperature is between two and five degrees and thus a tiny bit below my body's own comfort temperature. :D

    I've been here for a fortnight now and a lot has happened. So much that I'm going to divide the Seville section into several steps to better separate them.

    When I pay for accommodation, I want my most basic needs to be met. The most important things for me in this case are a good night's sleep, electricity, internet and also a hot shower.
    Well, let's say I had to do without one or the other at times.😛

    The first night, my roommates talked until the middle of the night and I heard their delicate voices through the equally delicate walls. After I had a brief de-escalating conversation at around 1 am, the power subsequently went out. Now, one or the other may certainly justifiably object that a power cut at night does not significantly restrict one's night's sleep. Until that night, I would have believed the same, but the strange electrical system of the room taught me otherwise:
    a bright lamp suddenly illuminated my room.
    To this day, I haven't found out why it came on or where it got its power from. I flicked all the light switches, hoping to turn it off. I deactivated all the fuses in the fuse box in my room. Nothing helped, the lamp stayed on.
    I was told at reception that they were working on a solution and expected the electrician within the hour.
    When nothing helped, I put a cloth over the lamp and finally there was darkness.
    The next morning, the electricity had not yet returned to the sockets and my hot shower failed. I spent the day in town and returned in the afternoon. The reception was buzzing with excitement: the power had just been restored.
    It lasted for about half an hour until it failed again. 🥳
    Later that evening, everything finally worked again, but I had already decided on a new accommodation.

    The next day was laundry day. I loaded my bags with all the textiles and drove to a laundry. A boy and a girl stood in front of the entrance smoking and greeted me. I went inside and loaded the machine. Outside, they were talking, laughing, looking over at me and asking me if I was German (I seem to have a German aura, because several people have already managed to guess my nationality accurately).
    As we all had to wait for our laundry, I invited them for a coffee and we talked about the peculiarities of our respective cultures. Shortly afterwards, two of their friends joined them and I was invited to lunch in their shared flat. We discussed, asked each other curious questions - it was really nice. The evening continued in a student pub. Five of us sat at a table and played a card game. Eventually, the neighbouring table, which had just been strangers, joined ours, then another neighbouring table, and then another. In no time at all, a manageable group of five people became a group of thirty people discussing across the room. Only a few knew each other, but what does that matter when you're having fun together?😊
    Read more