Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Everglades National Park

    June 7, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌩️ 29 °C

    Phew, driving is OK as its been a quiet road to national park (as its out of season). I get to the park entrance visitor centre, pay my park entry, and from there, every American I meet days how brave I am to camp alone. If I wasn't scared before, I am now!

    I took a few detours to do easy mini hikes, and really started to get a feel for this tropical wilderness and climate. By which I mean, hot, sticky and plenty of mosquitoes :-)

    The eco-tents are for glamping....except out of season (now) they are empty. I did know this and that I would be sleeping on the floor. I think my 50 year old body wishes I had thought it through more :-)

    All the National Park staff are so friendly, and cheerful and passionate. I was advised 7pm is a good time to see the crocs at the marina, and I did.

    We had 2 major lightening storms through the night. The rigid ecotent was completely dry and with a total mesh window, I had a very good viewpoint and waking up to the view of Florida Bay is something else.

    I did a Backcountry boat tour today, and genuinely felt happy, and grateful and lucky to be here. The captain and guide were entertaining and knowledgeable and we saw a family of manatees, hanging around the doc as we returned.
    Read more