Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Everglades endings

    June 9, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 30 °C

    I said goodbye to the Everglades National Park but not before another abandoned hike and the mother of all storms nearly flooded my eco-tent. That's a slight exageration but the wooden floors inside were all puddled. I awoke to watch the sunrise, and listen to the change over shift of nocturnal to daytime animals.

    I drove to another Everglades protected area to do a airboat trip through the sawgrass. It didn't disappoint; nice company, passionate guide, 4 American alligators came to say hello and gorgeous lotus flowers. Actually there were a surprising number of flowers. I have a great video but having trouble to upload. It's of Lola the alligator getting close enough to make me squirm.

    I decided I needed some petrol so got to a petrol station, and walked around to see how it worked. I walked into the shop, got bamboozled by DIY coffee and hot dogs, and left too embarrased to buy petrol (no one could understand my b accent as they were all Mexican). So, I stopped at the next station, and had to ask for assistance to open the petrol cap cover. With my idiot credentials validated, I proceeded to my next stop.
    Read more