Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Florida part 2

    June 9, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    Florida part 2 starts with Biscayne Bay National Park for some kayaking. The water was a fabulous temperature. More mangroves, some iguanas and a jolly good paddle. I had an amazing video to show you but upon review, it was entirely of my skin :-(

    I went to Hooseville Hostel, which had bad reviews due to long-stay local residents with drug and alcohol problems. I had a trouble free stay and it was quite quirky, with a cold water feature, carp pond, rabbits, pleasant outdoor area. The rooms were normal for a hostel and the 2 bathrooms for 60 residents was exceptionally clean. The kitchen was bare however as the usual pots and pans supplied in hostels kept going walkies. I meet a nice lady and we had a good old chat, the first person with whom I have had more than a fleeting exchange since I left UK.

    Today, I got me a Dunkin' Donuts breakfast and headed down south on US State Highway No. 1 to Florida Keys. I felt good, confident in the car, and excited to be here. I found Anne's Beach where the sea water was as warm as bathwater.... and so peaceful.

    I tucked in to a local speciality of Key Lime Pie and checked into my trailer park Airbnb accommodation. Once again, poor reviews so I am pleasantly surprised.

    And finishing the evening off with a sunset beach stroll.
    Read more