Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Day 6 - Shorter but lovely day

    September 21, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    "Just pick up your courage and walk away. Don't waste time. The longer one drags on, the amount of pain accumulates." -Dick Hirayama

    Day 6 - Logroño to Navarette 13.1 km - 7:30am start

    I woke up early as usual and just wanted to get out and get the heck going so todays walk would be over. I did t want to walk, but I couldn’t just sit there for a full day babying my foot. And I wasn’t up to another day of Fiesta. So, I was walking.

    As I sat there procrastinating, I read my messages and comments on social. I noticed I had a private message here. As I read this message, which was from an old colleague, I got all teary again. This is not someone that uses social media, on principle. And yet they took the time to not only read my posts, but to reach out - as they too have done the Camino. They told me it is tough. It breaks you and it makes you. And they sent me the Pilgrim’s Prayer (I will do a post just for this). I was so touched, as I needed to read this today. I put my pack on with a lighter heart and headed out.

    As I hit the streets, the clean up from last night was in full swing. Street cleaning, “power washing” with fire hoses etc. wasn’t that a party?? Getting it all nice and clean for todays celebration! So many people were still wandering around, a lot of them drunk as they hadn’t gone to bed yet if their eyes were any judge.

    I got out of the central area and spied a van across the street, by the hotel there. Jacotrans!! Now I know this won’t mean anything to you unless you’ve walked the Camino, but what a sight for sore eyes (and ankle!). This company (amongst others) are a baggage transportation company. They pick up your bag at your current Albergue and deliver it to your next one, for 5€ per trip. I had never used them but decided today was the day for another “first”. Although I caught them a bit off guard before they started pickups, they graciously allowed me to send my pack. The Camino provides! I quickly grabbed my day pack, water and first aid kit and damn near skipped up the street!!

    The walk was lovely. Mostly flat, despite the last few hills into town. I walked with a variety of people at a variety of speeds. Took me 4 hours to cover the 13+ km and I couldn’t have cared less. It’s not a race.

    Along the way, I met a Camino legend -Marcelino Lobato Castillo. I finally got my pilgrim shell and will attach it to my pack tomorrow. I also met a minstrel - for lack of a better word. He was walking towards us, playing a mandolin and singing. It just put a huge smile on my face!

    I got to town and called the physiotherapist back that I had tried to call yesterday. Very long story short, I finally found where I was being directed to and it was an Albergue not a physiotherapist. Lovely. An extra 2+ km up and down damned hills, for nothing. The Spanglish wasn’t working in my favour today lol!!

    Spent the rest of the day hanging out in bars (always wanted to be a barfly!) chatting with other pilgrims and eating amazing tapas!! Not sure this will be a weight loss journey 😂
    Read more