Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Day 7 Part 1 - Days like this….

    September 22, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    “If you are in a bad mood, go for a walk. If you are still in a bad mood, go for another walk."
    -Hippocrates

    Day 7 - Navarette to Santo Domingo de la Caldaza - by bus

    ** Disclaimer - part 1 is about my weird morning and about growing up. If you want to hear about where I am, skip this and head to Part 2” :-)

    Today is a weird day. Not a rest day per such but all the same, an enforced one. I caught the bus again today to try and see a physiotherapist. Was originally going to take the 1:15 bus but as I was awake at 4 and again at 6 due to people leaving the room, I quickly packed and tried to get the 7am bus. I was in time. Bus never came. Realized at 7:20 that I was on the wrong side of the damn road and I had missed it! So, 1:15 it was and in the meantime, I had 6 hours to kill. I was in shorts and a tshirt and found out after leaving the Albergue that it was 8c. I hid out in a cafe for over an hour that was thankfully open, then hit up the quiet and warmth of the beautiful church for a half hour. Made my way next to another cafe where Nancy, Danve and Louie met up with me, just after 10. They are having a well earned rest day in Navarette and had wanted to see me before I hopped on a bus. We hung out there until almost 1, and I was so grateful for their company and companionship. It was hard to say goodbye to these wonderful people, and they will always be part of my transient Camino family. It’s incredible how close you can get to -basically - total strangers, in a matter of a few days.

    I did catch the 1:15 (stood on the correct side this time!!) and made it to Santo Domingo de la Calzada only to find the physio is closed until 25th!! Seriously? I am just going to have to keep on walking and hope for the best. Next place for physio is Burgos, according to the receptionist here. 😭. Think that is 5 days walk. As it is due to rain for a few days, I see more buses in my future. I don’t mind walking in the rain, but up and down hills is a different kettle of fish than what I used to. In the meantime I will google Dr my symptoms and what Dave told me may be the issue (he is a geriatric physiotherapist), and try and find some stretches and hope that works.

    Not sure what the Camino is trying to teach me, but I hope I figure it out quickly!

    Honestly, I likely don’t even need to see someone. I am sure it is something that a few simple stretches will help with. I have wanted to “be sure”, just so I don’t do any real damage. But, chances are it is just something simple and stupid.

    So - I need to put on my big girl parties and stop copping out on the hills and hard parts. Suck it up and deal.

    Maybe that is what the Camino is trying to teach me - stop being a pussy. When the going gets tough, the tough get going. And the weak give up. I don’t want to be weak. Therefore, tomorrow I walk again. I will eventually get to Burgos and take a rest day there so I can see someone. And I will make the appointment in advance if I can, so I don’t get in to this situation again.

    I will still have to bus a bit throughout this journey as I am much slower than anticipated and won’t have time to complete without bussing. C’est La vie.

    Will do a “Part 2” for today about this town, just in case you are already bored to tears.
    Read more