Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 172

    Lausanne, Switzerland

    February 22, 2017 in Switzerland ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Wow how good do I feel to breathe some fresh mountain air. Forty minute walk from the bus to the hostel and the first thing I noticed was no cigarette butts on the ground and no dog crap. Sweet Jesus I'm in heaven. Super clean room with a view of the alps. I feel like I'm back at home. Went for an evening walk down to the lake , the Ouchy district and it was breathtaking. There are boats that go to Evian and other villes. Unlike the French the people speak English and are very proud of their surroundings. Lots of green space. Drove through Geneva which was also very lovely. I can't wait to explore tomorrow and enjoy this pristine beauty. I had a very strange thought walking back from the lake.....what would my life had been like if we had stayed in Switzerland in 1968? Would I have travelled just as much or maybe more? It would fascinate me to go back in time and see what kind of life I may have had here. I do love my home in Canada because it has given me so much, especially the clean air, water and environment.Read more