Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Yacht time

    July 7, 2023 in Croatia ⋅ 🌬 27 °C

    When this day began, we had little understanding of how it would end up. We had to catch a ferry to Hvar, which is known for being a party town, but our first night was infinitely better than we could have ever expected.

    Not much happened in the day. We just wandered around the town. But as the afternoon hit, we figured it was time for a few drinks at the hostel. We made friends with the receptionist at the hostel, and she recommended going and checking out Hula Hula, a supposed "beach party" north of the town. In the end, it was little more than a cramped deck. But this is where we ran into some people who happened to be from not only the same town as us on the Sunshine Coast but they were barely a few kms from where Jack and I grew up. We were chatting with them for a while when one of them said they were going to have shots with D-Lo. As they walked off, I said to Jack that the only D-Lo I know plays in the NBA, and so I assumed it was some DJ that was playing and nothing else. So Jack and I bought a beer for 10 euro - this would bring all the money we spent on the night. When the guys came back, they asked if we knew who Diangelo Russel was (D-Lo for short). This is when I had the realisation that I just missed the opportunity to have a shot with Diangelo Russel. I began to have my mind blown, shocked at how they were drinking with him. They said that their dad knew him, and he came to their private booth. I later found out the dad of the guys we were chatting to was CEO of a major tech company that sponsored the Golden State Warriors. The two had met when Diangelo Russel played there. I did, however, manage to run into him on my way to the bathroom and stole a sneaky photo with him. The guys then invited us to the private booth where we met the dad and the rest of the family. It was clear they were rich, but we didn't quite have a full grasp on the wealth until they invited us to the yacht. We drank with them for a while, and as we all began to leave, I was speaking to the dad, and this is when he mentioned they have a yacht and invited me on for a Bundaberg Rum. I of course didnt give 2 fucks about the Bundy Rum but i did care about living large on a yacht. I couldn't call Jack quick enough to tell him and get him to come back. He ran back to the club to meet us. We were then picked up on an inflatable dingy and ferried across to the yacht with about 10 or so people. They were mostly woman that could smell the money this family had. Even the boat ride over was insane, the sun was just setting and we were jetting off to a private yacht. Jack and I had already been shouted many, many drinks by the family and by the time we arrived on the yacht we were in awe. This kind of meant we forgot to take heaps of photos as we already looked out of place and didn't want to make it anymore obvious. We were given warm towels and a cocktail upon arrival but Greg (the dad with all the money) told the workers to pour a Bundy for myself and him. We then chatted over the rumbo, and that is how I learnt about his relationship with Diangelo Russel. The night went on, and Jack and I continued to get the millionaire treatment, offered drink after drink, rides on the boat, and whatever else tickled our fancy. Carpe Diem is a world famous club in Hvar, on a private island that you need to ferry across to for a cost (entry fee) of 40 euro. Greg had conveniently parked the yacht right out the front and said the workers would boat us across whenever we felt like it. Of course, we were having too much fun on the boat to go, but he paid 500 euro for a private booth that he never even ended up using. It would have been great to experience it, but being on the yacht was such a cool experience that I had to continue.

    We got a photo of the name of the yacht, and some later research told us that to rent it, it would cost you 125,000 euros or about $200,000 aud for a week. This includes 2 jetskis, a jacuzzi, and a team of 10 workers. Unbelievable day.
    Read more