Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Goodbye Florida

    June 11, 2023 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 27 °C

    My last full day in USA started with a snorkeling tour out in the John Pwnnekamp Coral Reef State Park at 9am. As we rode for half an hour away from shore, I thought...mmmm maybe the water will be cold. But nope, maybe a couple of degrees cooler than yesterday's baby bathwater level. Whilst the coral itself wasn't brightly coloured, there was a great variety of fish. I estimate I saw about 30 as I stopped counting at 20, including barracuda and a sting ray.

    Being the only solo traveller was annoying as we were told not to go off on our own (understandable) but most of the others were splashing about scaring the fish away. Doh!

    I spent the afternoon at the beach and felt very pleased with my prescription-inserts into my mask as I could see and avoid the jelly fish that were bothering people and remembered how much I love the sea when I can see :-)

    I returned back to the Hooseville Hostel which isn't full so whilst in an 8 bed mixed dormitory, I actually have the room to myself. I returned my hire car, really smug that it didn't have a scratch on it. I returned to the hostel by bus. At the bus stop, a homeless man asked if he could sit next to me. Yes. His name is Maurice. We both noticed a broken box in the road and he went to investigate. It had clearly fallen off the back of a lorry...literally :-) or from a delivery van. A random collection of new kids toys, quality branded trainers, balls, boxing gloves, a wallet etc Maurice decided to rescue and rehome the items, planning what he could sell, and what he would give away. I feel sorry for the intended recipient of the box but, to be fair to Maurice, if he didn't take the stuff, someone else would have.

    Maurice's dilemma was as a homeless man, who only has a bike with no brakes, how can he carry his payload. I got roped in to contacting his brother to help and left assuring Maurice, that if indeed I ever lose my current (fictional) husband, I will contact him through his brother, to give him a shot. As I waved to him from the bus, he had clearly already forgotten me as he was fondling his booty.

    Didn't take photos snorkeling as I an too scared to use my waterproof phone pouch in case it isn't as good as it claims to be.

    The hostel exterior is really nice, like a holiday resort. I quite like the vibe too be honest but that may be because its empty :-)
    Read more