Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    Sydney Adventures

    September 27, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 20 °C

    Started the day off yesterday... haha. Said good by to Storm and Xave and get on the bus to Sydney. 12 hours. First 8 to Canberra and then another 4 the rest of the way. I booked my ticket, but would you have it that it didn't go through. They let me on anyway because I have the pass. I guess the pitiful Canadian pout did the trick. I ended up sitting next to a lady and her baby, which is always what you want when you want to sleep. She took over my chair and hers and I felt terrible cause every time I moved I bumped the baby. Poor babe so not his fault. The second bus ride was was nicer, had two seats to myself and just passed right out. :)

    I got to Sydney and decided I wanted to walk... good thought, wrong direction. Most of you know that about me. Terrible sense of direction even with the GPS. So when I noticed the time was getting longer I reevaluated and made my way in the other direction. Found my hostel, still to early, but they let me change and into my room.

    I then headed out towards the Oprah House. In the process I got the chance to walk through the Royal Botanical Gardens, and past some beautiful buildings, old and new. I arrived at the Oprah House and did the obligatory few laps around. It is gorgeous, not my style or taste, but still incredible. I then hopped on the ferry to Manly Beach. Best decision ever! Words can't describe this beach. Well I'm sure they can but I cannot. The sand is so soft and fine, and the waves are just blue and phenomenal. I sat there for a long time, not entirely sure how long. But I left when some children started throwing sand at each other. I then meandered through all the souvenir shops and surf shops. I am very proud that I did not buy anything.

    I headed back to the Oprah House to meet up with a friend I had met on contiki Ross. He was running a bit late so I went for a walk and found a cute little building called the Government House... When I say cute I mean looks more like a castle. Ross and I then had a lovely dinner and catch up. After living as a vegetarian for a while, I got myself a nice big steak.... yummy!

    Headed back to the hostel for an early night... And as luck would have it my uber wouldn't work. Ross and I finally got it sorted and I still got a free ride, but just so silly and frustrating!

    👣's: 21639 - 16.05 km
    Read more